Honorary Life Fellowship recognises outstanding and sustained contributions and service in activities and roles directly or indirectly under the auspices of the New Zealand Geographical Society by a member of the Society. The recipient may use the designation LFNZGS in recognition of the award. The first Life Membership (now Life Fellowship) award was made in 1952.

A copy of the nomination form for the NZGS Honorary Life Fellowship can be downloaded here.


Richard Heerdegen

Awarded September 2014


Emeritus Professor Peter Holland

Awarded September 2013


June Logie

Awarded December 2012



 Michael Shepherd

Awarded 2007


Jeff Pepper-

Awarded 2005 


Linda Singh

Awarded 2004 


Richard Bedford

Awarded 2003 


Richard Le Heron
Auckland Joined 1973

Awarded 2003


Suzanne Smith

Awarded 2002


Michael Roche

Awarded 2002 


Evelyn Stokes

Awarded 2001 


Hugh Kidd

Awarded 1996



Bruce MacLachlan

Awarded 1996


Ian Owens

Awarded 1994


Terry Hearn

Awarded 1993 


Garth Cant

Awarded 1993


Grant Anderson

Awarded 1989


John Macaulay

Awarded 1984 


Ronald Lister

Awarded 1979


D I MacDonald

Awarded 1976


Eileen Banks

Awarded 1969


James Fox

Awarded 1963


Leigh Pownall
Awarded 1961 


George Jobberns
Awarded 1958


Kenneth B Cumberland

Awarded in 1955 


Benjamin Garnier

Awarded 1952

Print   Email