Honorary Geographer Award


2019 Recipient



Moana Jackson in recognition of his long and distinguished career in debating colonisation, Te Tiriti o Waitangi, sovereignty, and indigenous rights. The full citation can be found here.


 2018 Recipient


Kennedy Warne in recognition of his long and distinguished career as a ‘public geographer’, passionate communicator and advocate of concerns relating to land, society, environment and culture in Aotearoa New Zealand. We are deeply grateful for Mr Warne’s passion for Māori and environmental issues, immersion in sustainable eco-philosophy and commitment to conveying stories via his voice into households not only across Aotearoa (via radio and magazine articles) but also internationally (he co-founded New Zealand Geographic magazine, and writes for many popular media outlets). 

Print   Email