New Zealand Board of Geography Teachers (NZBoGT) - Your Geography Teachers' Association


The Board of Geography Teachers is a subcommittee of the New Zealand Geographical Society (NZGS). Our vision is to:

  • support the quality teaching and learning of Geography in New Zealand secondary schools.
  • raise the profile of Geography for students through participation in NZBoGT Competitions and events.
  • Promote links between the secondary and tertiary sectors and wider workforce within the geography community


We advise and consult with the Ministry of Education and New Zealand Qualifications Authority of matters of interest to New Zealand geography teachers and students.


The Board supports activities and professional development programmes for teachers and students at the local level through either Subject Associations or NZGS branches. For a list of local contacts see the Contact Us page


NZBoGT Board


 SImon Cushen

Deputy Chair

Otago Rep

(Kings High School) 



 Louise Richards


(Rongotai College)


Jane Foster


(Marist College)





Christian Richardson

Waikato / BoP Rep

Geograph-E Portfolio


(Mount Maunganui College) 


Victoria Gardner

Central Rep

Teacher Award Portfolio


(Lindisfarne College)


Donna Lee

Canterbury Rep

Curriculum Portfolio


(Burnside College)


Julie Struthers

Wellington Rep

Assessment Portfolio


(Tawa College)


Anna Wilson

Geography Olympiad Portfolio


(Wellington East Girls' College) 


Nick Page

Treasurer / Membership


(Otumoetai College)



Tony Binns

Tertiary Liaison


(Otago University) 


Mike Taylor

Pre-service Teacher Education

NEX Manager


(Victoria University Wellington)




Jane Evans

Kaiarahi -Network of Expertise


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Mary Robinson

Auckland Rep


(St Cuthbert's College) 


Print   Email