Postgrad Network and Reps


The NZGS Post/Graduate Network has been initiated to strengthen the Geography discipline, build future capacity, and enhance the experience, skills and feelings of belonging among Geography post/graduates across New Zealand universities.


We aim to develop a support network where students can discuss, share and learn about issues that directly affect them.


To develop the Network’s capacity and generate fellowship, we aim to hold regular postgraduate workshops, theme-based webinars through the access grid, and national workshops at the biennial NZGS Conference.


Visit the Network on Facebook.


National Representatives

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Jerram Bateman


University of Auckland

Bill Howie

Bill is doing a PhD in Geography, examining the influence of Ken Cumberland's 'Landmarks' TV series in New Zealand, and exploring contemporary prospects for cultivating geographical imagination through new media.


University of Waikato

Tegan Baker

Tegan is in her second semester of a B.Soc.Sci Honours in social/cultural geography at the University of Waikato. Her current research examines the ways and means sport becomes inscribed onto the bodies of participants. She aims to carry on to Masters study next year, continuing to focus on bodies that move.


Sandi Ringham

Sandi is currently studying at the University of Waikato and is undertaking a Masters of Social Science in human geography, critical tourism studies is her supporting subject. Her thesis examines how Māori values are integrated into Māori tourism spaces and places. Sandi investigates Aotearoa’s tourism development strategies and State sponsored branding juxtaposed with the voices of Māori tourism providers with an aim to understand how notions of positioning, power and leadership are maintained and/or disrupted.


Massey University

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Simon is undertaking a PhD at Massey University in Physical Geography within the Institute of Natural Resources in conjunction with Landcare Research Ltd. His research is focused around employing a ‘sediment fingerprinting’ technique in the Manawatu Catchment whereby fine sediment can be traced from their erosion sources and differentiated based on geochemical signatures. This will allow identification of key land areas, types of erosion processes and land uses that contribute fine sediment into the river catchment. His previous MSc work focused on developing a GIS coupled water budget for high resolution spatial and temporal analysis of water resources in the Horowhenua, New Zealand.


Victoria University

Jerome Cameron


University of Canterbury

Jasna Turkovic

Jasna is a PhD student at the University of Canterbury's Department of Geography. Her thesis examines community based learning (CBL) in post-disaster recovery. She is exploring the possible impacts CBL projects can have on the post-disaster recovery of communities in New Zealand and worldwide.


Lincoln University

Nick Kirk
Nick is a PhD candidate at Lincoln University studying water governance in the Canterbury region. Before starting his PhD he authored articles on climate change mitigation, common-pool resource governance of fisheries and collaborative approaches to water planning. He has an interest in human, environmental and economic geographies, with a particular focus on how power interacts with and shapes space and place.

University of Otago

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Jerram is a PhD student at the University of Otago. His research explores the post-conflict reconstruction of rural livelihoods in the Eastern Province of Sierra Leone.



Past Postgraduate Representatives

Gradon Diprose, Victoria University

Kat Longstaff, University of Auckland

Amanda Thomas, Victoria University

Joanne Stevenson, University of Canterbury

Collette Starheim, University of Canterbury

Gail Hutcheson, Waikato University

Cherie Todd, University of Waikato

Marc Tadaki, University of Auckland

Ruth Markham-Short, Lincoln University

John Appleby, Massey University

Jean Beetham

Peter Chamberlain, Lincoln University

Jonathan Conway, University of Otago

Megan Collins

Sarah Edwards, Lincoln University

Claire Gregory, University of Auckland

Jessica Keppel, University of Waikato

Arash Moghad

Marcela Palomino-Schalscha, Victoria University

Ben Payne, University of Otago

Colin Simpson

Jane Richardson, Massey University

Member Benefits

The Society holds a biennial Geography conference.

Branches of the Society run lecture and seminar series for local members.

Membership of the Society entitles members to 3 issues of New Zealand Geographer.

Join Today!